Are copywriting courses worth it?

Please don’t go down that rabbit hole.

Not saying copywriting courses are bad, but the question itself is problematic. It divides, infuriates people, and creates so much friction amongst one of the most unappreciated groups in the workforce.

That’s copywriters, by the way.

Copywriting courses are guidelines. They offer formulae for better copywriting, they teach you how to improve your copy, and they help you improve your skills. They are proven techniques you can follow to succeed in your copywriting goals.

Are they worth it, though?

Yes or no depends on what you think is worthwhile. Many people think it’s “worth it” when they earn more than the money they invested in those courses. In most cases, that does happen. If that’s you, then yes, copywriting courses are worth it.

On the flip side, remember that copywriting courses are put together by copywriters who want to monetise their expertise. Which is totally viable but is still a way to make money. Their need to monetise their skills results in their students doing the same. How else can you make money from copywriting? It’s just a circular economy. 🤷

For a long time, I thought I’m above petty courses where someone else told me how to tell my story. That’s why I’m not a millionaire. I’m just a copywriter with opinions.

Copywriters have the biggest of egos. I do, too. But it’s also important to recognise it when our egos may cost us.

I’ve come to realise that, despite my massive ego, I can also benefit from specific courses. Not because I want to use that knowledge to make more money, but because if I refuse to continue learning, I will be left behind in a world that’s sprinting ahead.

Published by N

Writer of all things, some of which are pretty good.

2 thoughts on “Are copywriting courses worth it?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started